Workshops

Spring 2023 Schedule

We offer workshops from our own team, as well as our colleagues in Research Computing. Workshops are listed below, grouped by series. Click on the date link to register; registration is free. Workshops (except where noted) are offered via Zoom.

You may find it more convenient to view a list of our workshops in date order. We also host workshops led by Research Computing.

Be sure to look at the Health Sciences Library data workshops, too!  They offer workshops in R, Excel, and SPSS.

We will be back in Spring 2023 with our regular workshop schedule.

January Data Essentials Bootcamp

Workshop Topic (Instructor) Day Time Location
Tableau, R, GitHub, and the Command Line
Wed-Fri, Jan 11-13, 2023 Varies In-person – Brown Science and Engineering Library

R

Workshop Topic (Instructor) Day Time Location
Getting Started with R (Jenn Huck)
Thursday, Jan 26 10:00-11:30am Online
Data Visualization in R (Jacob Goldstein-Greenwood)
Thursday, Feb 2 10:00-11:30am Online
Data Wrangling in R with dplyr and tidyr (Jacob Goldstein-Greenwood)
Thursday, Feb 9 10:00-11:30am Online
Fundamentals of Package Development in R (Jacob Goldstein-Greenwood)
Thursday, Feb 16 10:00-11:30am Online
Power and Sample Size Analysis in R (Clay Ford)
Thursday, Feb 23 10:00-11:30am Online
Modeling Count Data with R (Clay Ford)
Thursday, Mar 2 10:00-11:30am Online

Python

Workshop Topic (Instructor) Day Time Location
Intro to Python (Erich Purpur)
Wednesday, Jan 25 12:00-1:30pm Online
Intro to Python (Erich Purpur) Wednesday, Feb 1 12:00-1:30pm Online
Python Data Analysis + Visualization (Erich Purpur)
Wednesday, Feb 8 12:00-1:30pm Online
Sentiment Analysis in Python (Erich Purpur)
Wednesday, Feb 15 12:00-1:30pm Online
Geospatial Data + Mapping in Python (Erich Purpur)
Wednesday, Feb 22 12:00-1:30pm Online
Python and APIs (Erich Purpur)
Wednesday, Mar 1 12:00-1:30pm Online
Python Web Scraping (Erich Purpur)
Wednesday, Mar 15 12:00-1:30pm Online

Tableau/Power BI/Qualtrics

Workshop Topic (Instructor) Day Time Location
Data Viz in Tableau (Nancy Kechner)
Wednesday, Feb 1 10:00-11:30am Online
Data Viz in Tableau, Intermediate (Nancy Kechner)
Thursday, Feb 16 1:00-2:30pm Online
Using Power BI to Visualize Data (Nancy Kechner)
Wednesday, Feb 22 10:00-11:30am Online
Using Qualtrics to Create Dynamic Surveys (Nancy Kechner)
Wednesday, Mar 1 10:00-11:30am Online

Organizing Information/Reproducibility

Workshop Topic (Instructor) Day Time Location
Intro to Version Control with Git + GitHub (Erich Purpur)
Wednesday, Jan 25 10:00-11:30am Online
Organizing Transparent and Reproducible Research (Jenn Huck)
Friday, Feb 3 10:00-11:00am Online
Intro to Regular Expressions (Erich Purpur)
Wednesday, Feb 8 10:00-11:30am Online
Reproducible Analysis and Documentation with RStudio and R Markdown/Quarto (Jenn Huck)
Friday, Feb 10 10:00-11:30am Online
Sneak Peak: Open Science Framework Tool for Sharing Data and Code for Reproducible Research (Sherry Lake)
Friday, Feb 17 12:00-12:30pm Online
Intro to Zotero (Maggie Nunley) Wednesday, Feb 22 7:00-8:00pm Online
Sneak Peak: Repositories for Sharing Data and Code for Reproducible Research(Sherry Lake) Friday, Feb 24 12:00-12:30pm Online
Intro to Endnote (Jenny Coffman)
Thursday, Mar 2 12:00-1:00pm Online

Qualitative Analysis

Workshop Topic (Instructor) Day Time Location
Introduction to Qualitative Analysis (Christine Slaughter)
Tuesday, Jan 31 1:00-2:30pm Online
Using Dedoose for Qualitative Analysis (Christine Slaughter)
Tuesday, Feb 7 1:00-2:30pm Online
Using NVivo for Qualitative Analysis (Christine Slaughter)
Tuesday, Feb 14 1:00-2:30pm Online

Research Computing

Workshop Topic (Instructor) Day Time Location
Using Rivanna from the Command Line (Gladys Andino & Ahmad Sheikhzada) Wednesday, Feb 1 10:00-12:00pm Online
Data Transfer with Globus (Christina Gancayco & Ed Hall) Thursday, Feb 2 3:00-4:00pm Online
Using Containers on Rivanna (Ruoshi Sun) Monday, Feb 6 10:00-12:00pm Online
R Environment Management (Gladys Andino & Jackie Huband) Thursday, Feb 9 2:00-4:00pm Online
Compiling and running C/C++/Fortran on Rivanna (Katherine Holcomb) Wednesday, Mar 1 3:00-5:00pm Online
Making R Run Faster on Rivanna (Jackie Huband) Thursday, Mar 16 2:00-4:00pm Online
Parallelizing R with MPI (Jackie Huband) Thursday, April 13 2:00-4:00pm Online
Bioinformatics Data Visualization (Gladys Andino, Karsten Siller, & Marcus Bobar) Wednesday, April 19 2:00-4:00pm Online

Colleagues across the university offer workshops in data, programming, and more!
All Library Workshops || HSL Data Workshops || Scholars’ Lab Workshops